Join us in developing the new School District strategic plan! Complete the Mission, Vision, Values Survey HERE!

Main Menu:

Category: Parents Page

Classic Summer Reads For 12th Graders

Brave New World Aldous Huxley Huxley´s vision of the future in his astonishing 1931 novel Brave New World — a world of tomorrow in which capitalist civilization has been reconstituted through the most efficient scientific and psychological engineering, where the people are genetically designed to be passive, consistently useful to the ruling class. Emma Jane…

Classic Summer Reads For 11th Graders

A Raisin in the Sun Lorraine Hansberry This live, full-cast performance of Lorraine Hansberry’s classic 1958 play tells the story of a working class African-American family living in a small apartment on Chicago’s Southside. The matriarchal Lena “Mama” Younger awaits the arrival of her deceased husband’s $10,000 life insurance check. Her son, Walter, maneuvers to…

Classic Summer Reads For 10th Graders

The Picture of Dorian Gray  Oscar Wilde Oscar Wilde brings his enormous gifts for astute social observation and sparkling prose to The Picture of Dorian Gray, his dreamlike story of a young man who sells his soul for eternal youth and beauty. This dandy, who remains forever unchanged—petulant, hedonistic, vain, and amoral—while a painting of…

grad collage

Seniors Walked Down The Aisle!! #2015graduates

On June 9, 2015, 2nd class of Philadelphia Virtual Academy has walked down the aisle! Finish the rest of the school year strong and remember, when life gives you lemons, make a lemonade!!! Congratulations to all of the graduating seniors! CHEEEEEEEESE

Classic Summer Reads For 9th Graders

A Tale of Two Cities Charles Dickens “It was the best of times, it was the worst of times . . .” With these famous words, Charles Dickens plunges the reader into one of history’s most explosive eras—the French Revolution. From the storming of the Bastille to the relentless drop of the guillotine, Dickens vividly…

6-8th Grade Summer Reading (Part 2)

Counting By 7s Holly Goldberg Sloan In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family. Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it…

books

6-8th Grade Summer Reading (Part 1)

Brown Girl Dreaming Jacqueline Woodson Jacqueline Woodson, one of today’s finest writers, tells the moving story of her childhood in mesmerizing verse. Raised in South Carolina and New York, Woodson always felt halfway home in each place. In vivid poems, she shares what it was like to grow up as an African American in the…

chart

Let’s Raise An Entrepreneur

With PVA being an innovative cyber-home school, I believe that entrepreneurship is an interesting topic to bring up. One of the reasons students prefer PVA is due to its flexibility with time. Instead of offering school experience, the students are given time to explore outside of a school setting. Bored in school, failing classes, at odds…

books

Top 10 Most Meaningful College Majors

Having hard time deciding your major? Here is 2014-2015 College Salary Report by payscale.com that asked if they feel that their job makes the world a better place. 1. Pastoral Ministry- 93% 2. Nursing- 83% Clinical Laboratory Science- 83% 3. Child Development- 80% 4. Athletic Training- 78% Early Childhood Education- 78% Sports Medicine- 78% Medical…

yearbook

2014-2015 Yearbook!

Philadelphia Virtual Academy is proud to present our first yearbook. The yearbook is available to purchase online for every grade. You can easily purchase your Philadelphia Virtual Academy yearbook directly online. * The yearbook costs $22.00. * Additional $6.95 for hard cover. Get started by clicking on this link: http://www.treering.com/purchase?Passcode=101431438253976 The passcode is 101431438253976